Need to delete your Gmail account? This is a common question that is asked by many people, and is not the easiest place to do so – but this is not hard. Deleting your account quickly means setting up another email to ensure data is not lost or can be restored.
In today’s TechSplat article, we’re going to take a look at how you can delete your Gmail account quickly and easily.
How to delete your Gmail Account
To delete your Gmail account, you should follow the below steps:
- Login to your Google Account (Gmail Account).
- On the left side of your profile, hit “Data & Privacy“.
- Scroll down to the “Data from Apps and Services you Use“.
- Once here, under “Download or Delete your Data“, you can click “Delete a Google Service“.
- You may now be prompted for your Google account password.
- Once authorized, next to “Gmail” – click the trash can button on the right.
- You will need to enter another email address to sign in to Google services, which may mean you need to verify this new email – but it doesn’t have to be a Google Email.
- Within the authentication email to your new email/account, open the link and review the message “Yes, I want to delete my Gmail account“.
- Click “Delete Gmail“, then “Close” or “Done” to finish.
This will then delete your Gmail account. You will no longer be able to send, view or receive email from this account, however, your account may still be recoverable if you change your mind in the future – although this is a limited time. No one else can get your email from this point forward.
If you use Gmail through a school or business- you may need to contact your systems administrator to ensure that they can delete your account safely, for you.
Why you might want to delete your Gmail Account
Google does collect a large amount of data on us, and although this may not be a problem for most people, some people do like to ensure their data is safe and secure, and we don’t blame you for it.
On top of this, you may no longer want to use your @gmail.com address, or if you are being sent a large number of emails that you don’t wish to receive. These are all reasons you may want to remove your Gmail service from your Google Account.
What happens when you delete your Gmail account?
When you remove the Gmail service, several features and processes will happen. These include;
- Emails, Mail settings stored, will be deleted.
- The Gmail account cannot be used to send, view, or receive emails.
- Your Gmail address becomes unusable by anyone else.
- Your Gmail-only data will be removed, not your Google Account.
- The email sits in a “Recovery Phase” – where your Gmail account may be recovered within a set period of time.
Overall, if you want to remove your Gmail account, then we hope this guide has helped you. If you want to know more about this, please let us know. Thank you for taking the time to read through this article! Let us know your thoughts and good luck in the future!